The DIY Life: Healing Salve

19 Jun

Every so often I make something from scratch and think, hmmm….I MAY need an intervention. And then I take a moment to gather my thoughts and realize, nope, I’m good. Making this healing salve was one of those ohmygoshwhatthehellamidoing!!! moments. BUT – why aren’t MORE people doing stuff like this? I mean, it was simple enough. And people were making their own medicines and salves long before traditional medicine came into play. Don’t get me wrong. I am glad we have hospitals that can heal us, where they perform surgery under sedation, not where they give you a bottle of booze, then cut at you until you pass out like back in the day. Whew. But still. There is something to be said for the healing powers of natural things. Things found in nature, not created in a lab. Enter in this healing salve. It’s simple enough to make, with quality ingredients easily found on the world wide web (see below for links to small businesses I purchase from). This salve is anti-microbial, anti-bacterial, moistening, and soothing. And, it’s all natural. The ingredients are simple – coconut oil, olive oil, dried comfrey, dried calendula, beeswax, honey, and lavender oil. That is it.

This took me about 30 minutes total – with roughly 10 of that hands on. EASY. Mine turned out slightly darker than MrsHappyHomemakers, I’m guessing because my olive oil was a lot greener than hers. I had some baby food jars that I had originally set aside for another craft but decided to use them to store this salve. The recipe was enough for 2 jars. I’m looking forward to seeing what it does in the long term for any wounds. I put some on a cut that was already healing and it felt nice on my skin and softened the rough edges of it. After I finish are jar I’ll decide whether to make another batch!

homemade neo

Click HERE for the recipe, as well as details on what each of the ingredients does!

I purchased my herbs and lavender oil from Ancient Indigo Herbs. Get your own here. Fast shipping, and quality products.

Beeswax purchased from Mill Creak Honey. Get your own here. Fast shipping of an unfiltered great quality beeswax. I purchased one pound just to have it around for future recipes!

One Response to “The DIY Life: Healing Salve”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ambition looks a lot like greed to me | Copacabana - June 19, 2013

    […] Homemade salves are intriguing. Obviously they’d never supplant a good trip to the doctor — some olive oil mixed with lavender isn’t setting a broken arm — but for bee stings and sunburns, I love it! […]

Leave a comment