The DIY Life: Homemade Sweet Cream Coffee Creamer

14 Jun

I’m slacking lately on the posts. Between the garden, weekend obligations, and a ginormous amount of work, ain’t nobody got time for blogging. But before my anniversary camping trip, I decided to grace you all with an easy to do from scratch post.

The hubs and I love to have a morning cup of coffee, english breakfast tea or chai tea. Something about a warm beverage jest feels like it helps to slowly melt away your sleepiness and get you ready for the day! That being said, when you have two people drinking a cup of coffee on average 5 days per week, you can really go through creamer. I admit that I have been purchasing the Sweet Cream varieties in the refrigerated section at the grocery store. 😦 I decided to stop that since only one or two options contain actual dairy ingredients, and all contain additives that aren’t found in homemade versions. This is so simple to make that I can’t believe I was spending $3.50 weekly when I could spend that same amount for enough creamer to last us at least 2 weeks and not be full of artificial ingredients!

This recipe isn’t exact in taste as the store-bought, but that is because I don’t have any chemical taste enhancers. The next batch I make I think I’ll add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to boost the flavor profile.

sweet cream coffee creamer

Sweet Cream Coffee Creamer

1 14oz can organic sweetened condensed milk

3 12oz cans organic evaporated milk (not fat-free or low-fat)

Add all of your cans to a medium saucepan and heat of low heat for roughly 5 minutes, until the milks have combined. Let cool and place inside a container that you can easily pour from. Store in the fridge and use to sweeten your coffee and tea!

3 Responses to “The DIY Life: Homemade Sweet Cream Coffee Creamer”

  1. naimavanswol June 15, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    Sounds yummy! I’ve never thought of making my own cream. I have used sweetened condensed milk to sweeten my coffee, before, though. It’s pretty delish.

  2. Linda June 15, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    Cool… I’m definitely trying this!! My fav is the French vanilla, so I’ll add the vanilla too, or maybe steep a bean in it !! Thanks!!!

  3. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy June 16, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Great idea, and very easy. Just what I like. We don’t use cream or sweetener, but have houseguest that do, so I’ll try making a small batch next time.

Leave a Reply

