Sriracha Salt. You’re Welcome.

11 Mar

Nope. You read that right. Sriracha Salt. In the wild world of flavor, this salt is an odd yet flavorful addition to your spice cabinet. I don’t know if Randy Clemens, the author of the Sriracha Cookbook is the originator of the recipe for this tasty salt or not, but I’m just going to go with that.

I don’t have his cookbook. I like sriracha, but not enough to justify giving primo shelf space up for something devoted completely to this one condiment. I don’t know what his exact ratio of ingredients is for his personal mixture, just that it contains kosher salt, sriracha, granulated garlic, and cayenne pepper. I decided to keep it simple and make up my own mixture. I refused to research any further something as simple as a flavored salt. The process is pretty simple. Measure, mix, dehydrate. Boom.

My suggestion would be to use this as a flavor booster on already cooked foods. Sprinkled on eggs – scrambled or over easy. Sprinkled on roasted veggies, chicken, sandwiches. This would be a great replacement for season salt on wings. Anywhere you would season your meal with salt, this would generally be a decent replacement.  Using it in soup would be something I’d avoid. I think you’ll lose the garlic and sriracha flavor with all that liquid. Although the originator does suggest using the salt to rim glasses for adult bevs – this would be fabulous for a bloody mary!

If you make this, let me know what you think! Don’t feel like making it? Lucky for you, you can buy it from Randy Clemens via Etsy. Buying it’s a bit lazy. This is so easy, just do it yourself!

sriracha salt

Sriracha Salt

1/2 cup kosher salt

1/3 cup sriracha hot sauce

1 heaping teaspoon garlic powder

Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix them up. Put a piece of parchment on a cookie sheet and spread the mixture in a thin layer over the parchment. Place in the oven on the lowest setting it will go. Once the oven reaches temperature, turn off the oven and let the mixture sit overnight to dehydrate.

The  next day, check the mixture. If it’s still moist, stir it, spreading it into a thin layer again. Put it back in the oven to dehydrate for an hour or two, until totally dry. Once the mixture has cooled, add it to a food processor and pulse until chunks are broken down, and it looks like orange red kosher salt again. Store in an airtight container and use on what you want whenever you want!

14 Responses to “Sriracha Salt. You’re Welcome.”

  1. on thehomefrontandbeyond March 11, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    my son will love this!

    • seasonedwithsarcasm March 11, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      It’s so worth making! I think around holidays, I’m going to make a huge batch and gift it!

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy March 12, 2013 at 1:36 am #

    Oh, good god, that sounds good. You are a genius.

  3. chrissmari March 18, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    I think I may do this with regular hot sauce to cut out some of the sugar/carbs and see how it comes out! Will report back! Thanks for the inspiration

    • seasonedwithsarcasm March 18, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

      You’re very welcome! I think any hot sauce is a perfect sub for the sriracha. Just know that the thinner variations of hot sauce could dissolve some of the kosher salt, causing bigger chunks of dried salt. Easily remedied by a few pulses in the food processor! Do report back!

      • christin March 20, 2013 at 3:46 am #

        what is the temperature recommended for this fabulous spiked salt??
        thanks!

      • seasonedwithsarcasm March 20, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

        In my oven, the lowest temp setting is 150 degrees. If your oven doesn’t go that low, no worries. Just put your salt mixture in, set your oven to the lowest temp you can and let it get to that temperature. Once it hits, shut the oven off and let the salt sit. You can speed up the drying process if you leave it at this lowest setting and stir every 30 minutes or so, repeating until no moisture is left. If you make it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

  4. Anne July 7, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    Could you use a dehydrator? I have a food swap coming up and this seems like a perfect item to bring. I just was trying to avoid heating up the house any more then it is.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 11, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

      You can totally use a dehydrator Anne! I just did the oven since I didn’t feel like busting out the dehydrator. Just put down one of the sheets that you would use to make fruit leather.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fried chicken for lunch… | Copacabana - March 11, 2013

    […] this seems worthwhile. Here’s an alternate version that uses garlic which, who’re we kidding, makes it the better […]

  2. Links: Waffles, Parfaits, and Pickle-brined Chicken + a Blue Jar Winner - Food in Jars | Food in Jars - March 18, 2013

    […] Three-ingredient sriracha salt. […]

  3. Sunday night linktacular! | my own little dust-pile - March 18, 2013

    […] Sriracha salt! An idea whose time has come, if you ask me. […]

Leave a comment