Easy side dish – Inside Out Pierogis

16 Jul

I am mostly Slovenian. My great grandparents came to America on a boat full of other immigrants looking to make a better life for themselves. When my gram married and had my mom, she didn’t dilute the gene pool too much. Same thing with my mom when she married my dad. I am German, Dutch, Indian and Slovak – but the Slovak dominates. I blame that for my unnatural love of pierogis. And I’m a bit of a snob about them. I’ll eat non church pierogis, but there is one local church that makes them twice a year around Easter and Christmas and they are AMAZING. The best ever. My gram buys dozens of them and shares them with the rest of us. I freeze a bunch to have later, but immediately fry up a dozen with butter and some onions and eat half of them. Yep. No shame.

Now, it’s summertime so that means my stockpile of church pierogis are pretty much depleted. <insert sad face here> So when I recently had a hankering for pierogis, the Inside Out was born. You’ve got the dough aspect covered by the gnocchi – and they are traditionally made with potatoes so there is the potato aspect. Add in the ricotta for cheese and the chives for the onion and voila! And amazingly, they do taste a whole lot like pierogis. I loved it! I will most certainly be making these again. And I actually ate this as lunch, not as a side. I accompanied it with a salad and it was a delicious and filling meal.

Inside Out Pierogis

serves 2-3 as a side dish

1lb gnocchi – store bought of fresh made

½ cup whole milk ricotta

2 tbsp chives

½ tsp garlic salt

1tbsp olive oil

1tbsp butter

Cook the gnocchi according to package directions. Drain and set aside. Using the same pot the gnocchi were boiled in, add your oil and butter and heat over medium heat until butter is melted and the olive oil is hot. Add the cooked gnocchi to the pan and toss to coat. Let the gnocchi cook for a few minutes so that they get crispy and brown on one side. While they are browning, add the ricotta, chives and garlic salt. Stir to combine and cook until ricotta cheese it hot.

Serve and enjoy!

4 Responses to “Easy side dish – Inside Out Pierogis”

  1. Yinzerella July 16, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    A Ukrainian cookbook just fell into my collection. And with that and some ideas from my Hungarian cookbook, I think I’m going to make some Pierogie/Pirochi/etc. very, very soon.
    These look good.
    You ever make lazy pierogie casserole?

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 16, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      I’ve never even HEARD of lazy pierogi casserole!!! But it sounds pretty fantastic! I’m hoping to see a post on DiS!

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy July 16, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    My kids and I love pierogies. I’ll have to try this some night as a side with some grilled pork chops.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 16, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

      It’s hard not to love pierogi…..I’m always suspicious of people who say they don’t like them. Like they hate food or something lol.

Leave a Reply

