Apple Pie in a Jar – Apple Pie “Shine”

2 Apr

When I think of apple pie, it reminds me of being a kid, playing outside and being able to smell the delicious fragrance of freshly baking apple pie flowing out the open windows in the spring. There is just something about that smell and taste. It’s childhood.

As an adult, I like to enjoy apple pie in different variations. Cookies, cupcakes, cakes, tarts. As a grown up beverage, it can’t be beat. I did an Apple Pie Sangria with a jar of this mixed into the batch. It was AMAZING. Slightly potent, but AMAZING.  The best way to make a batch of that sangria is to actually have a jar of the Apple Pie “Shine” to mix into it. It’s easy to make, and just as easy to drink. My second batch was a little less potent, so I may add another shot of grain to the jars upon opening them. The recipe listed below is my variation of the recipe given to me by a friend. I think it makes something great tasting become epic tasting!

apple pie shine

Apple Pie Shine

1 gallon apple cider

1 gallon unsweetened apple juice

3 cups brown sugar

2 tablespoons molasses

2 vanilla beans, split lengthwise

1 heaping teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons vanilla extract – do not use imitation

1 liter (plus a couple extra glugs if you are heavy handed like me!) moonshine, Everclear, or the highest proof vodka you can find

Take and put all of your ingredients into a large pot, with the exception of the alcohol. Bring to a boil and let boil for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally to dissolve brown sugar and molasses. After 10 minutes, remove from heat and let sit for 10 minutes to cool slightly. Add your grain alcohol, stirring to combine.

Fill clean pint or quart mason jars to bottom of threads on jar, wipe rims and add lids and screw bands, twisting to finger tight. Rinse jars to get rid of any sticky residue and store in a cool dark place. Let “age” about 1 month to get rid of any strong booze flavor. Enjoy ice cold, shaking the jar before passing the jar around with friends! Tastes just like apple pie – in a jar!

5 Responses to “Apple Pie in a Jar – Apple Pie “Shine””

  1. Yinzerella April 5, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    If had the room (and a pot that big) I would totally try this. Well played.

  2. Victoria April 15, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    I have a pot this big and a big walk in closet that stays very cool so I think I am totally going to try this! It would be an awesome gift for my brother who is super fussy but loves apple pie and flavored vodkas!

    • seasonedwithsarcasm April 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

      It makes a great gift! I just recently did a half apple pie, half soda water mixed drink and it was SO good! Crisp and refreshing. And less potent than drinking this stuff straight out of the jar! I hope you and your brother enjoy it!

  3. Rachel Rappaport April 15, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Very “Justified”.

Leave a Reply

