English French Toast

14 Jan

I LOVE breakfast. LOVE IT! I would eat it for lunch, dinner, and well, breakfast. I especially love it for dinner though, because it’s like a sinful treat…it feels like I’m getting away with something eating a pancake or scrambled eggs for dinner. I’m a total rebel. And breakfast for dinner is a rather quick meal to prepare when you’re covering the basics. And it’s filling. And it’s breakfast, so it’s great!

On to french toast. I’ve made it will all types of bread. Sandwich bread, italian, whole wheat, whole grain, hot dog buns, kaiser rolls, french bread, sourdough, sausage rolls, baguette. Everything. Except english muffins. Then I saw a post over at thekitchn.com and was slack-jawed. HOW had I never made french toast out of english muffins???? The horror. I had to rectify this error. So, with english muffins as my bread, I got to mixing up my egg bath for those nook and cranny filled rounds and English French Toast was born. This recipe listed is the standard recipe I use for all french toast making, regardless of bread type. The version over at the kitchn.com is the runnier version, as there are fewer eggs and more milk/cream. I prefer and eggier version for myself, because it’s a more well-rounded breakfast for me. In my mind. Feel free to use either recipe, but be sure to try french toast out with english muffins.

The hubs confirms it’s a hit. The chewy texture of the english muffin elevates it to new levels, and those nooks and crannies help to keep parts of the muffin moist and custard like with those crisp direct contact with the pan parts.

This recipe can be adapted to fit your needs. I make a large enough batch that the hubs can have seconds, and I’ll still have a slice or two to eat for breakfast the next day. I just pop the slices in the toaster to reheat and crisp up and then slather in syrup. Bliss.

English French Toast

5 english muffins, split

8 eggs

1/4cup milk or cream

1tsp vanilla extract

Cinnamon for sprinkling

1-2tbsps butter for the pan

Directions

Pre-heat a large skillet over medium heat and add the butter.

While your skillet is pre-heating, add eggs, milk and vanilla to a baking dish and whisk to combine.

Pop in your english muffin halves, coating both sides in the egg mixture. Let them soak a bit to absorb as much egg as possible. I poke mine with a fork to help the egg penetrate the muffin better.

When all of your english muffins are coated in egg, place them in your skillet smooth side down. Sprinkle nook and cranny side with cinnamon. After about 3 minutes, flip the muffins. Cook for another 3 minutes.

If doing this in batches, I find it best to have the oven set to warm and will place the cooked french toasts in the oven to stay warm while I finish up the batch.

Serve with butter, good REAL maple syrup, or even some strawberry jam. Enjoy!

Note: These freeze really well too, so if you wanted to make a double batch and have them frozen for weekday breakfasts, go for it! Take them out the night before to thaw in the fridge and then just pop in the toaster until warm and crispy!

4 Responses to “English French Toast”

  1. pamtanzey January 14, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    What a great idea! Thanks! I’m going to try that.

  2. Alicia January 16, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    These look really delicious! I love French toast too! Have you ever tried banana bread French toast? It is possibly my favorite. We have also tried a blueberry-orange bread, and once had cinnamon roll French toast at a restaurant. If you like banana bread, you should try it.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm January 16, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks Alicia! Banana bread french toast sounds pretty fantastic! I have some streusel topped banana bread in the freezer already in slices – that would be decadent! More like a dessert item than breakfast. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

