The DIY Life: Candy Cane Lip Gloss

10 Dec

This is another simple and easy gift to make for your lady friends – Candy Cane Lip Gloss. Simple, natural ingredients. I wanted this to be simple. I didn’t use any waxes – like beeswax – so it’s nice and melty when you touch it with your fingers making it easy to apply. To thicken it and make it less able to melt in your purse on a hot day, I’d recommend adding 1/2 oz of beeswax. You’ll want to heat it on the stovetop to get everything combined if you do that. If you omit the tint, it can also be utilized as a hand cream for those dry chapped areas, especially around this time of year. How big your yield is will depend on what type of container you utilize. I got a dozen little tins out of this batch.

peppermint lip balm

Candy Cane (Peppermint Vanilla) Lip Gloss

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon Agave Nectar

1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract

1 teaspoon vanilla

tint (optional. I used kool-aid)

containers for gifting (I used stainless steel clear lidded tops used for favors)

Place all of your ingredients in a microwave safe bowl, and heat in 15 second spurts, until coconut oil is melted. Stir well so everything is combined, and pour into containers. Let sit overnight until set. Add some ribbon and you are ready to gift it!

9 Responses to “The DIY Life: Candy Cane Lip Gloss”

  1. Katie December 10, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    What a great gift idea! They look lovely.

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy December 10, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Love it! I’d probably add a little beeswax – I’m prone to forgetting my purse in my car on warm days.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm December 11, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      Now that I have some beeswax on hand, the next time I make a batch I’ll probably add a little bit and leave out the tint. That way I can have it on hand as a dual purpose moisturizer and lip balm!

  3. Alicia December 11, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    So cute! It seems I make a lot of edible gifts, so this would be a fun change!

    • seasonedwithsarcasm December 11, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks Alicia. I am usually gifting homemade mixes or goodies, so I thought a basket of beauty items would be lovely! I made a trio for friends this year – the lip balm, sugar scrub, and a salt soak that I’ll be posting soon!

  4. Jessica Nelson Norem December 19, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    I just made this but my color(kool-aid) keeps seperating and sinking to the bottom. I whisked and whisked it but after a few seconds, it seperates again….any ideas?

    • seasonedwithsarcasm December 20, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      hmmm, I’m not sure. Sorry to hear you had an issue!I didn’t have this problem at all. The only thing I can think of is perhaps it didn’t dissolve enough? I would try adding a bit more coconut oil as that may help thicken up the mixture a bit more and keep the kool aid particles from sinking. If that doesn’t work, I’d suggest straining the mixture through a fine mesh strainer to remove the kool-aid particles and jar it up after that. You will still most likely have colored the gloss, but it will be a lighter, less pronounced shade.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Candy Cane Lip Gloss | The Shoppers Spot - December 14, 2012

    […] DIY Candy Cane Lip Gloss […]

Leave a Reply

