The DIY Life: Homemade Bruschetta Mix

31 Oct

Round 3 of tomatopalooza resulted in 14 jars of this loveliness called bruschetta. The house smelled amazing. The jars looked gorgeous. I was going to mince and chop the tomatoes so fine that I wouldn’t mind eating it, but decided against that. I rough chopped them and thought hey, if I want to eat it, I can take the immersion blender to it so it’s a little smoother and less chunky for my liking. I love everything tomato but the actual tomatoes – so I don’t like them in chunks either. Salsa for me has to be fairly smooth. I know I know. It’s the texture. That firm mushiness just gives me the heeby jeebies. I can’t help it.

I did this with fresh tomatoes because I had some around. I have tons in the freezer too but think recipes like this are better suited for the fresh kind. I got this recipe straight off of the ball canning and preserving website. I didn’t have dry white wine, so I used a dry red. Instead of the dried oregano, I used dried chives. Instead of plum tomatoes I used Roma’s. Everything else I followed, because in the canning world, you don’t mess with acid ratios. Nope, no way no how. I doubled the recipe because I had so many tomatoes on hand that it didn’t make sense not to. I will certainly be gifting some of this loveliness come the holidays. And we will be enjoying it come the holidays.

For the recipe, click HERE.

For photos, look no further than below this sentence. Gorgeous!

2 Responses to “The DIY Life: Homemade Bruschetta Mix”

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy October 31, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    I didn’t know you could can bruschetta topping – good to know for next year. Geez, at this rate, I’m gonna have to quit my job..

    • seasonedwithsarcasm November 1, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      haha yes, I discovered it on the Ball Fresh Preserving website. It’s rather good too! It’s a fairly easy way to get rid of some tomatoes, I think I used about 10lbs of roma’s for this double batch. I told the hubs that 1. we need to move to a bigger place, like a farm, with acres upon acres of land and 2. he needed to make more money so I could quit my job and preserve food full time. there are not enough hours! lol

Leave a Reply

