Refreshing & healthy lunch idea – Avocado Egg Salad

10 Sep

The avocado is another one of those super foods. There are a lot of people who dismiss it from their diets because of its high calorie content. I on the other hand love it and am trying to sub it in for mayo whenever I can. I decided to give it a whirl in my egg salad sandwich for lunch. I’m overrun with fresh eggs from my chickens, so I needed another option to eat them all up! Wow, am I glad I subbed the mayo here! It’s fantastic. It was filling and flavorful, even without having all the yolk in it. I enjoyed it on a Syrian roll, but it would be fantastic on crackers, toasted french bread, or even in a salad. The recipe below? It’s one like my Bubba or mom would have written up because there aren’t really any exact measurements. You have to season it to your own tastes. So use it as a guideline, a starting point for you to jump off with your own avocado egg salad flavor. But most of all, enjoy it! I use a potato ricer when I make my egg salad because it gets everything nice and creamy.You can chop all this by hand if you want, or toss it into a food processor and pulse a couple of times until everything is combined.

Avocado Egg Salad

makes 2-3 sandwiches

4 hard-boiled eggs, peeled

1/2 ripe avocado

lemon juice to taste

garlic salt & pepper to taste

Start out by cutting 2 of the hard-boiled eggs in half and disposing of the egg yolks (I give mine to my dog, it makes his coat nice and shiny and he loves the taste). Place the whole eggs, egg whites and avocado into a potato ricer that has been placed over a bowl. Press down. Clean off any additional egg and avocado from the ricer. Season with garlic salt & pepper to your liking, and add a squirt of lemon juice. Stir to combine. Generously spread onto the bread of your choice and serve.

Note: Be sure to cover tightly when storing any leftovers. I place a piece of saran wrap snugly against the egg salad to avoid any possible discoloration of the avocado.

3 Responses to “Refreshing & healthy lunch idea – Avocado Egg Salad”

  1. shadedlinescreations September 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Thanks for the tip! I will have to try that one!

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy September 11, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    I can’t help but think of dr seuss’ green eggs and ham..

    • seasonedwithsarcasm September 11, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      me too! all it needs is a slice of ham and the person eating it to talk in rhymes and the story is complete.

Leave a Reply

