Grilled Romaine Salad with Grilled Buttery Garlic Baguette

27 Aug

Too much of anything for me ends with me getting sick of said thing. With certain exceptions: bread, eggs, and salad. We have salad with every meal. On those rare occasions when I am out of salad stuff, it feels like there is this huge void because there is no salad. Dinner is a downer, no matter how wonderful when salad is missing. Ok, not REALLY a downer, but still. A critical piece of the meal is missing.

With the summer days having been so very hot and the hubs on a mission to lose weight, he had started requesting just a big salad for dinner. Well, sweet. I can lose weight too AND save oodles of time on dinner prep by tossing together a salad! Woo hoo!!!

So, one day I found myself with some beefy romaine lettuce heads. Hmmm…seeing as how this is not my most favorite type of lettuce, I decided to help make it more palatable to me, I’d get wild and grill it. Grilling salad is no new thing, but I think we tend to forget about this option when prepping our meals. We put everything else on the grill, why not our salad too? Now, the thought of eating a grilled iceberg lettuce or grilled field green salad sounds rather gross to me. But romaine is nice and sturdy. It can handle the heat. That char that some of the leafy tops get just adds a lovely depth of flavor.

Now, since this is a grilled salad, meaning it will be warm when served, I wanted any additional ingredients to also be grilled and warm. So I grilled up the green onions. I even cut a couple of tomatoes in half and grilled them too. And the bread, oh the bread. Grilled to perfection with a lovely hint of garlic. I could eat a whole baguette of this stuff by myself. As it stands, I ate 1/4 of a baguette and forced myself from going back.

This recipe can easily be double, tripled, quadrupled to serve multiple dinner guests. The recipe below is enough to serve 2 as a side salad, or 1 as a dinner salad. I have already asked hubs to keep a path cleared to the grill when it starts to snow because this has rather quickly become my new favorite salad. I use my Creamy Italian Dressing with it, but you can use whatever you like. I wouldn’t go for any soft cheeses though as they will get melted and stuck together from the warmth of the salad. Harder cheeses are key. As is simplicity, which is why there are so few ingredients. Sometimes it’s nice to have a dinner that you don’t have to think too hard about or do tons of prep work. Enjoy!

Grilled Romaine Salad with Grilled Buttery Garlic Baguette

Serves 2 as a side, 1 as a main

1 head romaine lettuce, rinsed dried and sliced in half lengthwise

6 green onions, roots and green tops trimmed

1 clove garlic, cut in half

1/2 loaf baguette bread, cut in half lengthwise

shaved parmesan cheese for sprinkling

butter

olive oil

kosher salt

Preheat your grill so the grill plates are nice and hot. While the grill is heating up, drizzle olive oil over your green onions and romaine lettuce halves. Sprinkle with kosher salt.

Take the garlic clove halves and rub them all over both pieces of the baguette, tops and bottoms. Smear a little butter on the tops of each baguette half and sprinkle with some kosher salt.

Place your lettuce and bread halves cut side down on the hot grill along with your green onions. Let cook about 5 minutes or until the lettuce starts to get nice and browned and flip both the lettuce and the bread. Check your onions, once grill marks appear and onions start to get soft, flip them. Cook for about 5 more minutes. Remove everything from the grill.

Transfer the lettuce and green onions to a cutting board, and using a sharp knife, roughly chop everything into bite size pieces. Place in a bowl, sprinkling top of salad with shaved parmesan. Add dressing and toss to coat.

Serve with the grilled baguette and enjoy!

8 Responses to “Grilled Romaine Salad with Grilled Buttery Garlic Baguette”

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy August 27, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Looks beautiful. I just tried grilled romaine for the first time this year and loved it too. Maybe we should have some for dinner tonight.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 27, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      Thank you! I had it awhile back and loved it, but had forgotten about it until I had a veggie drawer full of romaine. It’s amazing how flavorful it is just by grilling it up!

  2. thefoodandwinehedonist August 27, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    I saw a recipe like this before and wanted to make it. But I forgot about it. Totes goin to pin it. Whether I forget about the pin is still up in the air… Looks awesome

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      haha I do that all the time. Pin or bookmark something delicious with the intent of making it, and never follow through. Glad I was able to remind you! Def a must make. It’s one of the newest household faves! I can see myself grilling up this recipe in the dead of winter. It’s that good!

  3. zankin August 29, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    This is one of my favorite recipes, I should make some bagettes for the morning while I think of it. Thanks for the post!

  4. Yinzerella August 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    I need to grill the Romaine and put some of my Caesar dressing on it!

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 29, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      That sounds FANTASTIC! I need to make up some myself. I love it, but hubs isn’t a huge fan, so I generally trick him by not telling him that’s what is on it lol

Leave a Reply

