Recipe Test: Joy the Baker’s Strawberry Upside Down Cake

13 Aug

I love Joy. From her wittiness in her posts to her down to earth recipes with a little twist. When I saw her post a recipe for a Strawberry Upside Down Cake, well I was just smitten. And HAD to make it ASAP. So I did. It was FANTASTIC. Really. I followed her recipe with the exception that I did not use any Cardomom, because I didn’t have any to use. I increased the amount of vanilla in mine from 1 teaspoon to 2 teaspoons. Also, I increased the brown sugar from 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup for the topping. It turned out wonderfully. Took it to a cookout and shared it with family and friends. They very much enjoyed it. It was very easy to make and took only a small amount of time to whip up.

I’m noticing an obsessive pattern here with me and strawberries lately. I can’t help it! Every sweet treat I make has these ruby red beauties and the fruit portion. I may need an intervention.

These photos below were taken just after it was freshly popped out of the pan. The strawberries didn’t stay that bright red. Once they are exposed to the air and cool down they turn from bright red to a dark shade of mauve. Don’t worry. This happens with all recipes that cook strawberries. They can’t keep that brightness once all the juices soak into the cake. So don’t worry if yours goes from BLAM! Bright Red to Meh Mauve. It will still taste fantastic. I promise.

Get the recipe HERE, straight from Joy. Drool over my pictures. Ya. That’s right. You know you want a piece of this cake. I sure want another one.

5 Responses to “Recipe Test: Joy the Baker’s Strawberry Upside Down Cake”

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy August 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    You’re right, I do want a piece.

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy August 13, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    Just took a look at the recipe and I’m going to try it out this week with some of the peaches that we just bought – I froze 10 lbs, but kept a couple of baskets for eating and baking. I don’t have any cardamom either, so will try it with your changes.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 14, 2012 at 12:52 am #

      That sounds like a nice twist! I wanna try it again with raspberries or blackberries. And cinnamon apples come October 🙂 drool

  3. SarahN August 15, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Made 1 1/2 of these – one for my building’s meeting and the other for tonight’s dinner at a friends. My building owners loved it, so that’s a start! Did have a few pesky strawberries that didn’t want to stay ‘down’ (on the cake, stuck to the tin); and the melted butter in a loose bottom pan not my smartest idea!

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 16, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      ah the joys of cooking! I let my cake cool in the pan (used a springform pan) and once it was just warm flipped it and peeled the pan base off. That may have helped keep all the berries on the cake where they belong! Glad to hear everyone liked it!

Leave a Reply

