Hope & a Strawberry ShortCake PanCake

8 Aug

Heidi, a fellow blogger over at Lightly Crunchy, has tagged me in a blog relay to write about the subject of hope. What better time to write about it than now?

What better place to start than with the definition of hope?

hope/hōp/

Noun:
A feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.

* I hope that my garden does well because I am so looking forward to using my pressure canner to can pasta sauce for the first time (now that I’ve gotten over my fear of it exploding, covering myself and every kitchen surface in molten hot food lava)

* I hope my chickens start laying some eggs soon, because buying them from the store is for the birds. badum-bum. I’ll be here all night.

* I hope that I am able to find the motivation to get myself back into the swing of exercising so that I can lose that 10lbs of fat from overindulging in homemade beer. Whoops.

* I hope that the hubs and I can take a long weekend soon just to kick back and relax and not worry about having to DO anything!

* I hope that my dad being home on the one year anniversary of my mom’s passing helps to make it a less heart wrenching experience.

* I hope that my blog inspires other to cook, craft, and make as many things from scratch as they can.

I think that hope means different things to different people. That having hope makes you feel a little less lost out in this great big crazy world. That hope brings people together, just like food does.

I hope that you enjoy this Seasoned with Sarcasm original as much as I do.

Strawberry ShortCake PanCake

serves 6

1 box white cake mix

2 cups frozen strawberries, chopped (do NOT drain the juices from them) *see note

1 egg

1 1/2 cups water

1 tablespoon vanilla

powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 2 9 inch round cake pans. In a medium bowl, add cake mix, strawberries & juices, egg, water & vanilla and mix until no large lumps of cake mix remain. Split the batter between the two cake pans and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick pierced in the center comes out clean. Let cool to room temp and dust with powdered sugar. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream, or all by itself.

Note: If you are using fresh berries, chop them up and then place them in a bowl with a teaspoon of sugar. Let them sit for 15-30 minutes until you see them getting nice and juicy. You don’t want to skip the strawberry juice portion because it gives the cake a really nice well-rounded strawberry flavor and helps with the moisture. If using frozen berries, chop them up and make sure they are totally thawed. Once you chop them up and let them defrost there will a nice juicy puddle in with them.

And now it’s my turn to pass the torch to 3 fellow bloggers.

The Food and Wine Hedonist – because his posts are witty, funny, and down to earth.

Bonnie, over at Recipes Happen – she’s a new wife finding her way around the kitchen getting creative and crafty, willing to try new things.

Emily, also known as Yinzerella over at Dinner is Served 1972 – I love her wit, sarcasm, and the fact that she is on a mission to work and eat her way through all the DiS recipe cards. No matter how weird the recipes are!

 

6 Responses to “Hope & a Strawberry ShortCake PanCake”

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy August 8, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    Yum! This one is doable for me..

    You mean it’s possible to over-indulge? So THAT has been my problem. Good to know. Might not do anything about it though.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 8, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      OMG Heidi it is super easy. And i’m going to go out on a limb and say good for you because there is no oil, only 1 egg, and berries. I froze the one so we wouldn’t feel obligated to eat it. Until later. Like 2 days after I froze it. Oops.
      And shockingly, it was to me too – you can over indulge. Since I don’t plan on really cutting back, I should move my ass on that elliptical. It’s in my house. I don’t REALLY have an excuse. Wait…the chickens, pup, hubs, house and all my homemade making of stuff does consume all of my time AFTER I get home from work. Yep. That’s why. 🙂

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond August 8, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    I was tagged too, and I love your response to Hope — it can be looked at in so many ways

  3. recipeshappen August 9, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    NICE!
    That looks yummmmyyyyy. 🙂
    just saying.

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

Leave a Reply

