The DIY Life: Hand crafted cake stand

17 Jul

My name is Heather and I am a pinterest addict. There. I said it. Now, having said it I must also admit that I pin a whole helluva lotta things that I am probably:

1. Never going to craft

2. Have room to store said craft should I manage to craft it as most of these crafts would require multiple households to display these items

3. Not manage to sucker the hubs into  “helping” me craft every single thing I’ve pinned (helping translates to creating anything that requires a saw or accurate measurements of ANYTHING!)

BUT, that being said I did feel compelled to immediately craft up THIS from over at joshuatrent.com. Why? Well, it’s a very simple and cheap craft to make. And my sink needed it to organize my dishwashing crap. I’ve got a 1/2 gallon old blue Ball canning mason jar that has my dish soap in it (I know, shocking. I’ve got a mason jar holding my dish soap!!!), a mason jar containing my Lemon Kitchen Sugar Scrub and a scrubby (yes, ANOTHER MASON JAR! I have a problem. Whatever).

I went to the store and purchased a 4.25in clay pot as well as a 10in clay saucer in the outdoor department. I then picked up a can of indoor/outdoor spray paint – since it’s going to be by the sink, the paint needed to be able to handle water – and got down to business.

I measured and marked off the center (what I thought was the center, and is center enough for ME. Hubs told me I was 3/8 of an inch off. I told him that was good enough for me. psh.) Then I traced a ring on the underneath of the saucer with the bottom of the pot, laid down a ring of clear window silicone because that is what was open, and stuck my clay pot on. I smoothed out any silicone that oozed and let it dry overnight.

Over the next 2 days, because I’m a craft slacker, I applied 3 coats of spray paint to the top and bottom.

Voila! My new organization for beside the kitchen sink. Loving it. For those in the Need to Know – The paint I picked was Krylon in gloss – Blue Ocean Breeze. The ocean blue of old Ball canning jars is one of my accent colors in my kitchen, so this worked out to be a bright and lovely shade. Very complimentary! I dig it.

If you want a more detailed tutorial of this simple yet awesome craft, please check it out here.

I’m thinking these would make fantastic housewarming gifts when paired with something edible, or even with items like I have sink-side.

9 Responses to “The DIY Life: Hand crafted cake stand”

  1. thefoodandwinehedonist July 17, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I’m the furthest thing from crafty, but I do appreciate a good home accessory. This looks pretty cool. Think I’m going to Pin It. I’ll probably ignore it like my other Pins, but don’t feel offended…:)

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      haha I will not be offended. This is one of the few pins I’ve actually followed through on craft wise. For me, it’s the recipes that are easier to accomplish since I generally have the ingredients on hand! But this craft is so simple and requires about zero skill, so you can do it 🙂

  2. shadedlinescreations July 17, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    So cute! And I am right there with you on the things I pin vs. the things I actually do! But learn to use the power tools! My husband is currently teaching me and it completely opens up range of items I can create!

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

      Ya, I’ve asked the hubs a couple times to show me how to use things and he does. However I think he’s glad I won’t use things like the saw because if I ever got over my fear of losing a finger, we’d have a house full of furniture made out of pallets. It probably wouldn’t be level or evenly measured lol because that whole exact measurement thing doesn’t work in my brain.

  3. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy July 17, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Pinterest does have a way of sucking you in and spitting you out several hours later (sort of like WordPress). I like the stand – very cute.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 18, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      It does indeed! There are times I’m like oh, I’m just gonna check out pinterest for a few minutes. 2 hours later…..

  4. Yinzerella July 18, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    That turned out surprisingly well.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 18, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

      Why thank you! Even with it being off center by 3/8 in like the hubs so kindly pointed out, I think it looks mighty fine next to the sink.

      • Yinzerella July 19, 2012 at 1:52 am #

        It does! Well done.

Leave a Reply

