Campin’ in the Kitchen – Campfire Biscuit S’mores

2 Jul

Have I ever mentioned my love of s’mores? No? Well, I love me some s’mores, in all their melty chocolate, gooey marshmallow messy goodness. They go hand in hand with campfires and camping…and even the upcoming 4th of July holiday! But why should we only enjoy them in certain situations? And why should we have to enjoy them only outdoors??? We shouldn’t. So now when I have a hankerin’ for a s’more, I think this will be my indoor twist. I found it in my Food & Wine magazine. I’m not going to lie. This is the first recipe I’ve seen in the magazine that made me want to make it. Don’t get me wrong – the photos are beautiful, they have great articles on where to go when you’re in a certain place, but for me, their recipes are not up my alley. But s’mores? Those are something I can get behind. There was actually a whole great article called “Campfire Cuisine” that featured a host of camping friendly recipes to help make the experience a little more gourmet. Without breaking the bank on ingredients or causing you to have to purchase hard to find items. If you get a chance, check it out.

This recipe is my adaptation, and will provide dessert for 2. I was on the fence about the jam (the original recipe called for raspberry) but it takes your standard s’more to the next level. Try to use homemade jam if at all possible. I cheated and used store bought marshmallows, but will be whipping up a batch of homemade  to try out so everything in the recipe is from scratch good.

Next time I have a cookout, I may make a bunch of these up as dessert. Everyone can grill or roast their own marshmallows and I’ll provide the biscuits.

Campfire Biscuit S’mores

adapted from Food & Wine June 2012

¾ cup Quick Biscuit Mix (recipe below)

1 tablespoon sugar

¼ cup water

½ cup chocolate chips

1 tablespoon butter

4 tablespoons strawberry jam (homemade is best)

4 marshmallows

Marshmallow fork

In a small bowl, combine the biscuit mix, sugar, water and chocolate chips. The batter should be thicker than a pancake batter.

Preheat a skillet and add the butter. Once the butter is melted, spread it around the pan and reduce flame to medium-low. Scoop the batter into the pan in 4 mounds, spreading it out in a circle to form little pancake like biscuits, 3-4 inches in diameter. Cook for 2 minutes and flip. Top 2 of the biscuits with strawberry jam.

Meanwhile, add 2 marshmallows to your marshmallow fork and warm them over an open flame (I used my stove burner), letting them bubble and crisp up on the outside. Place the 2 marshmallows on top of one of the jam topped biscuits and repeat the process for the other. (alternately, you can put them on top of the biscuits and under the broiler to toast more evenly for gooey deliciousness!)

Once you’ve added your toasted marshmallows, place the jamless biscuits on top of the marshmallows, creating a sandwich. Plate up and serve, eating immediately!

Quick Biscuit Mix

Adapted from Food & Wine June 2012

1 cup self rising flour (I mixed up my own batch)

3 tablespoons whole milk powder

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

2 tablespoons olive oil

Place all ingredients in a small bowl. Using your hands, work the oil into the flour until combined (it will resemble bisquick). Use for the s’more recipe above, or store for up to 2 weeks in an airtight container.

2 Responses to “Campin’ in the Kitchen – Campfire Biscuit S’mores”

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy July 3, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    These sound absolutely amazing – kinda like bannock and s’mores all in one. Guess what? I was making up some mixes to take to the island cottage anyway, so.. yep, will do a bag of this to take, too.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm July 3, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Heidi they are to die for! I’ve made them 3 times since I discovered the recipe. I could actually go for one right now…..

Leave a comment