The DIY Life: Invitation Ornaments

11 May

It’s that time of year again – Wedding Season! And what do we get when wedding season begins? Invitations to the weddings! What do we generally do with them? We throw them away!

Now that we all know what time of year it is again and what we do with invitations, onto a way to repurpose those invitations into a gift your friends and loved ones can cherish forever!

Invitation Ornaments – Most craft stores sell clear glass ornaments. The kind you can paint, fill with glitter, whatever your heart desires. My desire was to fill them with curls of the wedding and shower invitation for one of my good friends as a gift for her wedding. To me, a handmade gift is a wonderful thing. I love getting homemade gifts. It means someone not only thought of me but took the time to create something for me. It’s a wonderful reminder that people care about you.

The ornaments I bought are little glass squares and totally adorable. Since the opening in the top of the ornaments was small, I cut my invitations into thin strips so they could easily fit.

I then wrapped the strips around a pen so they would curl, and curled them through the opening at the top of the ornaments. Reassembled them, put them back in their snug little box, and my gift is ready for wrapping!

The process is simple, quick, and the cost is rather inexpensive. It’s a great way to give a gift that can be cherished for years to come. I recently found a copy of my wedding invitation, so I’m going to make a set of these for my Christmas tree!

Some tips – when cutting the invite, try to keep the words from the invitation visible. It’s awesome to look into the glass and see a name, date, or place.

Buy the clear glass ornaments. Frosted ornaments won’t let you really see the invitation curls.

3 Responses to “The DIY Life: Invitation Ornaments”

  1. crayonsandmilk May 15, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Thanks for sharing! 😀

  2. Yinzerella May 23, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    This is a FANTASTIC idea. I think I’ll be making some of these.

  3. seasonedwithsarcasm May 23, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    So easy! And my friend totally loved them!!

Leave a Reply

