The DIY Life: Homemade Instant Oatmeal Mix

19 Apr

So the hubs is on his oatmeal kick again. On the cool mornings he likes to enjoy a bowl of hot oatmeal before heading off to work. Of course, he eats 2 packets because he’s a man. And men eat more than us dainty ladies. So that means that in a week, he consumes a box of oatmeal packets. Which means that I’ve got to stock up on oatmeal packets, and even buying the store brand it’s $2 per box. So, since we just ran out, and I had a surplus of quick cooking oats, I decided to try my hand at making my own mix. This is pretty much the standard recipe floating out there on the internet, I didn’t invent it but thought i’d share it with my penny pinching followers who also want to be more aware of their foods content. You are welcome my fellow thrifters.

I myself cannot eat oatmeal. Boy I wish I could. It’s wholesome, fills your tummy, and good for you. But I cannot get past the texture. No matter how amazing the steam from the hot oats smells, as soon as it hits my tongue I gag. Sigh. I did try this mixture dry for my taste test and it was pretty tasty. A nice flavor combo. Hubs confirms it’s good.

And I didn’t do the math because I had all the ingredients in the house to make this, BUT it’s got to be cheaper than purchasing the store bought stuff if you are going through at least one box per week. I doubled the recipe and filled a gallon sized mason jar. Put a scoop in it so now the hubs can just scoop out what he wants and be on his way.

And it’s way nicer to look at the oatmeal mixture in my sweet ass mason jar than those packets sitting in the fruit basket. I have a thing for mason jars. Like a HUGE thing. In case you hadn’t picked up on that from my posts yet. Like if there were Mason Jar meeting similar to the AA setting, I would have to attend them. But there isn’t any such thing, so i’ll go on collecting mason jars like it’s my destiny.

 

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal Mix

18oz container quick oats

1/3 cup powdered milk

2/3 cup packed dark brown sugar

1-2 tsp Cinnamon (I did 2tsp for more cinnamon flavor)
Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix by hand. Be sure to break up any chunks of brown sugar. Store in an airtight container.
To serve, place 1/2cup oatmeal mix in a bowl and cover with 1/2cup hot water or milk. Add in fruit or nuts if you want some additional flavor.
3 Responses to “The DIY Life: Homemade Instant Oatmeal Mix”

  1. SarahN August 29, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Wow, so I just eat quick oats, heated with water, and oat milk to cool it post microwave. I’ve been steadily trying to use up milk powder (which I use when a recipe calls for me, as I only stock oat and almond milk and they act weird in certain things). But… !now I can use it in my porridge (and you bet I’ll start regularly buying milk powder now, rather than using it up!!) I also add cinnamon sometimes. I LOVE brown sugar, but I’m trying to be healthier and that means as close to zero sugar as possible wah wah

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 30, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      You could lessen the brown sugar in this recipe if you wanted to watch your sugar intake. I love the smell of oatmeal but can’t stand the texture, so this was for hubs. He said it’s pretty good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The DIY Life: Mason Jar Storage and Organization « seasonedwithsarcasm - August 29, 2012

    […] I did this consolidation a couple of years ago because I was tired of all the boxes, bags and various containers holding all of our foodstuffs – raw material and ready to eat. I was so over going to grab the box of rice or pasta for a meal only to find there wasn’t enough. With the limited cupboard space we currently have, it was well overdue to start getting down to organizing everything. And not just the boxes. Because let’s face it – those box/bottle/bag laden shelves only stayed nice and organized for roughly 1 week after all that work. Being in a hurry to get dinner on the table meant things just got shoved back in where they fit. The canning jars saved the day! I’m not stuck on using only canning jars. The clear glass jars from Target are large enough to hold a 5lb bag of flour or sugar. Bigger barrel jars from the discount stores hold bulk egg noodles. A large apothecary jar holds homemade oatmeal. […]

Leave a Reply

