The DIY Life: Homemade Fabric Softener

26 Mar

Let’s face it. Gas is almost $4 a gallon here in my neck of the woods. So being frugal and making my own fabric softener to go with my homemade laundry soap isn’t really a far fetched idea. This recipe is cheap, easy, and you can customize it to your liking by picking whatever scent conditioner you like! Don’t worry, your clothes won’t smell like vinegar. Depending on what scent you choose, you can’t even smell the vinegar!

What you will need:

6 cups hot water

3 cups white vinegar

1 15oz bottle sauve conditioner (in the scent of your choice)

Container(s) to put the finished softener in

Place all 3 items in a large bowl and mix together with a whisk to incorporate the conditioner. Place it in mason jars or any other reusable container and have it ready for the next load of laundry! I use one “scoop” worth in the fabric softener compartment of my standard washing machine, and fill it the rest of the way with water. The scoop I use is one left over from the oxy clean that I add to my homemade laundry soap. My clothes are static free, softened, and do NOT smell like vinegar. They just smell clean. Like clothes should. The cost for all of this fabric softener? Under $3.

The original version for this recipe is located over at Frugal Girls so go on over and show them some love!

4 Responses to “The DIY Life: Homemade Fabric Softener”

  1. Lynn Biasini March 26, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Does the (I assume it is HAIR conditioner) leave “oily” spots on cotton shirts? I am having a HUGE problem with this, either in my washer or dryer, I don’t know which, but I use fabric sheets. It happens on dark cottons only!! They seem to “move around”; sometimes on the front, next time those are gone, then they are somewhere else!!! YIKES

    • seasonedwithsarcasm March 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      Hi Lynn! Yes, the conditioner can leave “oily” spots on your clothes. I have had this happen when the fabric softener dispenser in my washer leaks, or if I accidentally spill some fabric softener on the clothes while I am filling the dispenser. The easiest way to avoid this is to add the fabric softener when your washer is filling for the 2nd time to do the rinse cycle since the washer is full of water. Have you thought of using a Downy ball? Just another option.
      To remove those spots, just put a touch of Dawn dishwashing liquid on it and rub it in. Wash as you usually would. It cuts the grease just like when you do dishes! I hate seeing those spots, but I love how soft my clothes are from using the liquid softener. I don’t feel like the sheets do the trick.
      If you are concerned about spotting on your clothes and want to avoid having to deal with it, soak strips of old white cotton t-shirts in the solution, wring out, and let dry. You can store them in a lidded container and throw one in the dryer with your clothes.

  2. Jenny May 13, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    How long does this last? 60 washes, 120 washes?? Since it has been a while since you posted this is there any changes you would make now? Are you still using it along with the laundry soap? Thanks Girlie.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm May 14, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      I haven’t yet had a chance to use the whole container that I made since i’m finishing up a ginormous sized Snuggle. But, I’d estimate it’s got to last about 120+ washes. I use the scoop from my oxy clean container (probably about 3tbsp worth of liquid) to get a premeasured amount and add it to the fabric softener section of my washer, filling the rest of the way with water. My clothes are soft and static free, and there is not any vinegar scent left behind. Just the slightest scent from the conditioner scent I picked.
      I would make no changes to this. It serves its purpose and is loads cheaper than the brand name stuff. Why pay money for conditioner water with extra dyes added for high color? No need! 🙂

Leave a Reply

