The DIY Life: Another use for candle scraps

13 Mar

I’m always looking to save money, but there are some things I don’t cheap out on. Candles are one of those things. There is a distinct difference in the amount of scent a candle gives off when you spend $5 on it or $20 (unless you got that $20 candle on sale for $5 of course!). I don’t mind the cheap candles for outside, or for a big party and you want candles all over the place. But for my centerpieces I like to buy the more expensive ones that will scent the whole room. And I burn those to within an inch of their lives. Well actually, to about 1/2 an inch. Of their death. That means that there is 1/2 in of wonderfully scented wax left at the bottom not getting put to good use.

So me, being frugal and wanting to get every penny out of my candles does this:

I pop the wax out of the bottom of the jar with a butter knife – sticking it right in the center of the wax usually releases it. I then break it into 4 pieces, remove the wick holder(s) and voila – a new lease on life as wax for my tart warmers! I store them in a baggie and put them with my other tarts to use as I want. It means I don’t have to buy tarts at $1 a pop because out of one candle I got 4 tarts! And once the scent dies? I add in a couple drops of some scented oil in a similar or complimentary smell and extend them even more!

2 Responses to “The DIY Life: Another use for candle scraps”

  1. Jenny May 13, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    To help them pop out easier place container in freezer for a little while. Worked great for me.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm May 14, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      I do that too on those pesky containers that have more rounded edges when the butter knife in the center doesn’t work! Def an awesome way to get every last penny out of those candles!

Leave a Reply

