My take on the Shrimp Toast Appetizer. Verdict? Delish!

9 Mar

Shrimp have been sometimes referred to as the cockroaches of the sea. That said, if cockroaches of the land tasted like shrimp, I would eat the hell out of them. I do not think that is the case though. Google it…it’s not as gross as you think. Lobster is lumped in there too. That’s some expensive cockroach if you ask me.

Now that I have sufficiently grossed you out, onto the shrimp toasts. I have always seen these on the menu at chinese restaurants but have only ordered them on one occasion. They were good, don’t get me wrong. But they left me feeling heavy and unhealthy because they are fried in oil. So I was on a mission to make a slightly healthier version of the shrimp toast. My own version. The end result? DEVOURED. I’m not really sure that hubs allowed anyone else to try too many of them. And I’m not gonna lie – I ate a big helping of them myself. They are addicting.  Next time I make them, I’m making a double batch for sure.

Ingredients

12oz raw peeled, deveined shrimp with the tail off – fresh or frozen (if frozen, thaw)

1 large clove garlic, roughly chopped

2 green onions, trimmed

2tbsp shaved or shredded parmesan

a couple shakes of red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 baguette – sliced into rounds

1/2 cup olive oil mixed with 1/2 tsp kosher salt for brushing the bread

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Rinse your shrimp under cool water and pat dry with paper towels.

Place all of the ingredients up to the baguette into a food processor, and pulse until it looks well combined. You do not want any big chunks of shrimp.

Brush one side of each of your baguette slices with the olive oil and salt mixture. Place olive oil side down on a rimmed baking sheet.

Once this is done, spread some of the shrimp mixture onto each of the pieces of bread.

Place in your preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until the shrimp mixture has turned pink. Switch oven to broil and place under the broiler for 5-10 minutes, until the tops are bubbling and beginning to brown.

Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

