Review: Sorel Women’s Joan of Arctic Boots

5 Mar

I decided that 2012 was the year I was going to buy a decent pair of snow boots. Not only decent in the snow, but cute to look at too. I have had a pair of legit snow boots from another company that has been around for as long as I can remember. However, they suck. They don’t keep my feet warm. They were fine for running out to the car, but if there was any legit walking through the snow, my feet would be freezing by the time I took them off. And they were pleather/vinyl so they are now doing that lovely peeling thing pleather likes to do. I refused to face another year with those as my snow boots!

Onto the Sorel boots – I own another pair of them that go to about mid-calf. They aren’t super duper cute(like these ones!) but they serve their purpose for getting through the snow and keeping my feet warm. And they are easy to get on or off rather quickly since they are slip on and zip up. Since they do hit at mid-calf, they do make my calf sore after wearing them for any extended period of time since they are so stiff  (as snow boots should be!) and I wanted a cute pair.

I searched around and looked at a lot of different brands. The ones that stood out for me with great reviews and a really nice look were the Sorel Women’s Joan of Arctic Boots. They are fun with the faux furry tops, they are practical with the rubber boot base, and they are stylish because they come in a variety of colors to fit whatever floats your boat. And they are LEATHER!  I’ve had them for about a month now and just got the chance to try them out. Figures I go and purchase some snow boots and we don’t get enough snow in Pennsylvania to break them out! But last weekend, I got my chance.

I wore these all day for getting my grocery shopping done, bringing in firewood for my gram, shoveling sidewalks, and then in the evening for going out. After all of that, I can honestly say I think it’s a great boot. My feet were never once cold. They lived up to their waterproof advertisement. They were what I felt is true to size for a snow boot. I wear an 8, ordered and 8, and they fit perfect. There is room to wear thick winter socks, so that means they do run a little big but you want to be able to wear thicker socks in the winter so the extra room is a plus. They were slightly hard to walk in at first, as with any snow boot. But I got used to it right away and was no big deal. While these boots are pricey, they are worth it. I don’t see myself ever needing to purchase another pair of snow boots again because these things are built to last. And still be stylish 10 years from now.

Wanna check them out? Go here. I purchased mine from amazon for about $40 less than the advertised price. I got them in the Taffy/Port Royale color. love it!!!

Leave a Reply

