Snickerdoodles!

19 Dec

I have to admit, I love eating these cookies, but have only made them one time in my life – for this post! I don’t know why. It’s not like they are hard to make! But when I thought of cookies, this wasn’t one that popped into my head as an Oh, I gotta make those! My husband requested them for Christmas so I obliged. I’m glad I did. This recipe is an adaptation of Martha Stewarts cookie recipe. I got around 4 dozen of them. They are nice and fluffy and chewy. And they taste just as great out of the freezer. Get your bake on!

Snickerdoodles


2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp coarse salt
2 sticks butter, room temperature
1-1/2 cups sugar + 2 tbsp for coating
2 large eggs
2 tsp ground cinnamon


Preheat oven to 350. Line two baking sheets with parchment or silpat mats.
Cream together butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar in a large bowl until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, and mix until well incorporated. Slowly add dry ingredients, mixing well after each addition.
In a small bowl, stir together cinnamon + 2 tbsp sugar. Set aside
Using your fingers, roll cookie dough into balls, about 1-1/2 inches. Roll cookie dough balls in cinnamon sugar, and place on prepared baking sheets. Space cookies at least 1 to 2 inches apart.
Bake for 12 minutes. Cool on wire racks and serve! Or layer between waxed paper and freeze in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

