It’s the Holiday Season….

2 Dec

Wow, did this year go fast! I’m still in shock that Thanksgiving is behind us and we will soon be celebrating Christmas! WHERE does the time go???

Every year over Thanksgiving break, I take the week off and get my holiday baking accomplished. I throw on Pandora and listen to the Christmas station and tackle that years cookie recipes. This year, I made 6 types of cookies and a pumpkin roll. I cleaned the whole house in between, top to bottom. We did our yearly gingerbread houses after Thanksgiving dinner, complete with sarcastic rivalry at who’s would be best, and who would get done last (always my sister-in-law!). I got to spend some time with friends and catch up, and lastly, got to transform my house for Christmas. I love this time of year. It’s not about the presents, it’s about the cozy atmosphere that the lights on the tree give. It’s about sharing good food with friends and family. It’s about honoring traditions, and making new memories. And this year will be about remembering my mom as we move forward in life without her, but keep her near us.

Now for the cookies – I will be sharing these recipes with you over the next few weeks.

Ginormous Chocolate Chip Cookies – click here to be taken to the recipe. These are AMAZING!

Peanut Butter Cookies

Red Velvet Shortbread Cookies

Oatmeal Cookies

Snickerdoodles

Healthy Pumpkin Gingersnap Cookies

Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling

I baked every recipe above in 3 days. The shortbread cookies I would say took the most amount of time on same day assembly since there was the dipping in the chocolate and sprinkling involved, after waiting for them to cool. Baking time/prep time wise, the Ginormous Chocolate Chip cookies took the longest (1hr chill time after mixing and dropping dough). I made the Red Velvet Shortbread one day, did the Ginormous Choc Chip Cookies and Snickerdoodles another day, and everything else on the third day. If you are pressed for time, I’d recommend mixing up a few batches of the dough and baking them throughout the week. Most of these recipes yield about 4 dozen, so you’re looking at about 1/2hr of baking time with rotating the cookie sheets.

Baking these up and freezing them makes for an easy, homemade dish to take to a party – just pull out of the freezer and go! They’ll be thawed by the time you get to your destination!

Leave a Reply

