Beauty Tips: Coconut Milk

29 Nov

Let’s face it, around the holidays we all can have a tendency to neglect ourselves. We are so busy with baking, cooking, shopping, decorating, and attending parties that we sometimes let our beauty routines fall by the wayside.

Me? I’m very low maintenance when it comes to beauty. I’m not one of those girls that needs 2hrs to get ready to go to the mall. If I have to wash my hair, shower and shave, I’m at about 45 minutes tops. And that’s with drying and flat ironing my hair (which with fine poker straight hair, I only do to smooth the ends or any kinks out).

Speaking of hair, I’ve got very long fine hair. It’s beautiful – I love my hair, I get compliments on it all the time. But around the winter, it seems like the ends start splitting so much faster than the summer months when the air is humid. And I’m lazy when it comes to getting regular hair cuts – my hair guy is lucky if he sees me about every 3 months. So since my appointments are so few and far between, I tend to get more than the standard 1/4 in trim and lean towards 1-2 inches off the length and 2-3 inches on the layers. I use lots of conditioner to keep my hair moist, but the winter usually wins causing the ends to split more and more and giving me those lovely fly aways. I was looking for something to try to help give my hair an intense conditioning without weighing it down and making it greasy. Lead to pinterest stalking. If you haven’t discovered pinterest yet, I don’t know what you have been waiting for! Just go check it out – it’s a virtual pinboard for ideas, recipes, crafts – you name it.

Back to the hair – on pinterest I kept seeing these photos of milky coated hair. I kept bypassing them focusing instead on sarcastic photos and of course, recipes. Then I read what the photo was for, and had an AHA! moment. Essentially, you take and coat your hair in coconut milk – MILK, not cream. Let it sit for an hour, and then wash/condition/style your hair as usual. Supposedly it will speed hair growth while adding moisture to your dry locks. I decided to give it a try since I was scheduled for a hair cut in the next couple days, and I had time to kill seeing as how it was  my cookie baking bonanza for Christmas.

To make the application process less messy, I poured the coconut milk into a hair color applicator bottle – it let me get it right to the roots and not cover my bathroom in coconut milk. I put it right on my in need of being washed hair, massaged it in, and then twisted it up on the top of my head and let it sit for one hour. I used coconut milk that they sold in the store…nothing special is required.

I then washed and conditioned my hair like I usually do, and since I didn’t have anywhere to go I just twisted up my hair and let it air dry.

This is my hair the following morning, after air drying and sleeping on it – not even brushed! I don’t usually get a lot of bed head but this is pretty smooth looking all things considered.

I have to say it’s a nice way to give your hair a moisturizing treatment, especially during this time of year. I can’t attest to it speeding up the growth process since I just did it, but it def conditioned my hair without weighing it down. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

