My Obsession – all things pumpkin. Today, lowfat pumpkin cupcakes!

21 Sep

Please accept my apologies in advance. There is potential for my blog to be overwhelmed with pumpkin recipes of all kinds. All it takes is that first day we have where the air is cool and you can smell the start of fall, or the day that pumpkin beers are announced on draft. I’m obsessed. When there was a pumpkin shortage, I started hoarding cans of the stuff, buying more than I needed on the off-chance I’d have a hankering for some pumpkin pie and not have any of it on hand. I also roasted some of my own and froze it just to be safe. Yes, I’ve got a problem. And then there were rumblings of there being a bad crop this year so next year there may be a shortage again. Oh the evil cycle.

Now, add to this the fact that I’m attempting to shed some pounds with the holidays quickly approaching….and I need low fat but still flavorful recipes for pumpkin items. Well, thank you Gina from Skinny Taste. I found her recipe, I made it, and I only modified it slightly from her recipe based on what I had on hand…and I loved it! I had a lot of cupcakes for just me and husband so I brought some in for my coworkers – what a huge hit! They all thought they were delish and would never have guessed they were low-fat and pretty healthy for you in comparison!

The recipe below is my modified version, click here to go to Gina’s version.

I hope you enjoy these as much as everyone in my neck of the woods did!

Low-Fat Frosted Pumpkin Cupcakes
Ingredients

  • 18.25 oz  Golden Vanilla Cake Mix
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1 cup water

Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 oz Philadelphia 1/3 fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 5 tbsp packed brown sugar

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350°. Line your cupcake pans – I needed 20 total.

Combine cake mix, nutmeg and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add the canned pumpkin and water and beat about 2 minutes until combined. Fill your cupcake liners 2/3 of the way full and bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let cool completely on a wire rack.

For the icing, combine all the ingredients and mix until nice and smooth. Top cooled cupcakes with icing however you like, and serve!

Refrigerate any leftover cupcakes. These also freeze nicely even once you frost them, so it’s easy to pop a couple out to serve guests!

2 Responses to “My Obsession – all things pumpkin. Today, lowfat pumpkin cupcakes!”

  1. Diane September 25, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    These look amazing!!!! Can’t wait to try them – what a great website 🙂

    • seasonedwithsarcasm October 3, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      thanks so much Diane! Hope you enjoy them as much as everyone else did!

Leave a Reply

