Almost the last peppers of the season…sigh

16 Sep

I’m not gonna lie. I am not a big fan of peppers. I don’t eat them. When I make stuffed peppers, I eat the meat and toss the pepper. When I eat a stuffed hot pepper, I eat the meat and pass the pepper along to the husband. Peppers in my salad? I pick them out. Yet somehow I managed to start from see 6 different varieties of peppers – Green Bell, Hungarian, Sweet, Tuscan (peperoncini), and Jalapeno. I’ve pickled and stuffed them, and still have tons left. So the boy said he had them one time with olive oil and cheese under the broiler. Um, ok. Sounds simple, but it didn’t sound like they’d be good just under the broiler because they’d be too crunchy. So I winged it and the end result was just perfect according to the husband. The husband, who actually said he could eat just this with some crusty bread for dinner. No meat. NO MEAT?!?!?!? He always wants meat for dinner. This stuff must be tasty.

Damn i’m good.

This recipe is simple. Use any type of peppers you want. As little or as many as you want. The husband likes a mix of hot and sweet peppers. The cheese possibilities are endless. Go wild, get crazy. Use one type or mix it up. Just make sure it’s something that will melt and bubble and brown.

Variety of peppers, cut in half/pieces and seeded – enough to fill a 9×9 pan (I use a mix of the types I planted in my garden)

Olive oil

Kosher Salt

Freshly shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Drizzle some olive oil into the 9×9 pan. Add the peppers and sprinkle with kosher salt. Drizzle with additional olive oil – you want enough olive oil on these so that there is some in the bottom of the pan that will be flavored from the peppers and cheese and taste fantastic sopped up with some crusty bread.

Sprinkle the tops of the peppers with cheese, however much you want is your preference. Place in the preheated oven for 20-30 minutes. When the cheese is bubbling and getting those toasty brown spots, your peppers are done.

Serve hot with crusty bread and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

