Well known restaurant chain dressing, but without the cost. Hello Creamy Italian.

13 Sep

So I love the Olive Garden. Not because of their entrees. It’s because I can go there and gorge myself on bowl after bowl of salad and sop up any excess dressing with a warm bread stick. There are plenty of times I have gone there and eaten nothing but salad, bread sticks, and of course a piece of tiramisu. Bliss.

Now, I love the OG dressing, but at $7 a bottle (the last time I bought it…could be more now) that habit can get a little pricey when you’re eating salad just about everyday and can go through a bottle a week if you aren’t careful. So, I decided to attempt to clone the recipe. I Googled my heart out looking for a copy cat version that I could duplicate in my own home. When I saw the list of ingredients most of them carried, I felt the wind leave my sails. Then I decided I’d wing it and hope for the best.

Well, I think what I’ve created comes pretty close. Only it’s BETTER. The  husband used to be a devout Good Seasons italian dressing sort of guy. Now he wants nothing but my homemade dressing. Well bless his heart…..

I hope you guys enjoy this in its simplicity and uncomplicated goodness. Just a note – the picture is the recipe below 4 times over….we do eat salad every day and it’s more efficient to make one really big batch. The recipe I have provided will yield you enough for 1-2 family sized salads, depending on how much dressing you like.

Creamy Italian Dressing

Ingredients:

4tbsp chives, dehydrated

4tbsp parmesan cheese

4tbsp extra virgin olive oil

3tbsp light mayo

1tsp garlic salt

1tsp italian herb mix

1tbsp lemon juice

2tbsp white vinegar

1tbsp water

Place all ingredients in bowl and blend with an immersion blender until well combined. The dressing will be light green color from the chives. Serve over a garden salad and toss to coat. refrigerate and leftover dressing. When using any leftover dressing, remove from fridge for about 10 minutes prior to using as the olive oil will make the dressing thicker and harder to pour.

If you don’t have an immersion blender you can use a food processor or blender and get the same outcome. DO NOT USE any type of oil but olive oil.

3 Responses to “Well known restaurant chain dressing, but without the cost. Hello Creamy Italian.”

  1. Alisa August 24, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Hi, I was wondering why you say to not use any oil except olive oil? Can I use avocado oil?
    Thanks

    • seasonedwithsarcasm August 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

      I do not have any experience with avocado oil, but if it’s similar to olive oil (mixes easily, gets thicker when chilled) then I’d say give it a try. Or do a half avocado/half olive oil mix. Some oils can give an off flavor or make the dressing taste oily. I prefer olive oil because it gives it a nice mild flavor without making the dressing heavy. Hope that helps!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grilled Romaine Salad with Grilled Buttery Garlic Baguette « seasonedwithsarcasm - August 27, 2012

    […] grill when it starts to snow because this has rather quickly become my new favorite salad. I use my Creamy Italian Dressing with it, but you can use whatever you like. I wouldn’t go for any soft cheeses though as […]

Leave a Reply

