This is for you mom.

30 Aug

Last week would qualify as the worst week I have ever experienced in my 31 years of life. Last week my mother passed away suddenly. At only 53, it was a shock to us all and we are still numb from the loss. My mom wouldn’t want us to to be sad for too long and would want us to get back to some sense of what is normal for us as soon as possible. So that is what we are all trying to do. I’ll forget for a minute that she is gone and then it will hit me and steal my breath away. It was too soon. I thought I had more time. But there is just never enough time. So to honor my mom and show her I miss her I’m sharing this recipe with you. It’s not one she ever made, more an adaptation of one of my childhood favorites – the Archway brand chocolate chip drop cookies – that we would sometimes get in place of her making chocolate chip cookies from scratch. She would have made these cookies, I know it. I can see her sampling the cookie dough and eating one right off the cookie sheet. She would love these cookies, and be proud that we both share the love of cooking and feeding people, that her “recipes” will live on through her daughters. That we all grieve and cope with loss differently, and this is my way of working through it.

Life is short. Love your ass off. Do what makes you happy. Never hold back the words ” I love you” and never think you can say those words too much. You can’t. My Mom left this world truly happy with her life and the things that were happening in it. That is a gift that you can’t put a value on, to her for being able to leave this world happy and to those of us left behind to miss her. It helps us find peace.

This one is for you mom. I hope they serve these cookies in Heaven. I love you.

Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Cookies

3 cups (approx 450g) plain flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 1/2 cups raw sugar (see note)

2 large eggs

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2/3 cup well-shaken buttermilk

1 cup milk  chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F with rack in middle. Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper. Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer until pale and fluffy. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition, then beat in vanilla. Mix in flour mixture and buttermilk alternately in batches at low speed, beginning and ending with flour mixture, until smooth. Fold in chocolate chips..

Drop level tablespoons of dough about 1 1/2 inches apart onto baking sheets. Bake, 1 sheet at a time, until cookies are puffed and golden, 13 to 15 minutes per batch. Cool the cookies on the cookie sheets for 1 minute, then transfer them to cooling racks. These are fabulous warm from the oven, but also good at room temperature. They freeze fantastically as well.

To freeze: cool cookies completely. Store in airtight container, layering cookies with a piece of waxed paper in between each layer to prevent them from sticking together. Cookies will still taste great 3 months later, but I doubt they will last that long.

Note: these cookies are soft and yummy, but the raw cane sugar will melt and give them a little bit of a crunch on the outside. It’s delish! If you substitute regular white granulated sugar, this will not happen and the cookies will look a little different than in the photo. I’ve had them this way too and they are still great!

Leave a Reply

