Comfort food and childhood memories – Poor man’s spaghetti

22 Aug

For all of us there are foods that throw us immediatley back into our childhoods and fill us with memories. For everyone it’s different. Maybe it’s the smell of apple pie baking in the oven. Stuffed peppers, chocolate chip cookies, homemade bread or corn dogs.

For me, it is what my Bubba and my gram called “Poor Man’s Spaghetti”. My gram grew up on this, and then my mother, and my sister and I have enjoyed it all of our lives. This is something my gram ate as a child when they ran out of homemade sauce, and at 85 she still eats it today. As a kid my sister and I ate it because it was delicious and filling and alot more mellow than traditional pasta sauce. The recipe is very simple but one that throws me right back to my childhood, sitting at my grams kitchen table with my little sister slurping it down with a glass of ice cold milk.

Sometimes it’s the simplest recipes that mean the most.

Poor Man’s Spaghetti

1/2lb pasta of your choice, cooked to package directions

3 tablespoons butter

1 (10 3/4oz) can of Campbell’s tomato soup

 

In a saucepan melt butter and heat with tomato soup until bubbling.

Add pasta and stir to combine, heating pasta.

Season with salt and pepper to taste and enjoy!

Note: to make this a heartier meal, you can add 1/4-1/2lb cook ground beef or turkey.

 

Leave a Reply

