Happy National S’mores day! You can’t have s’more without these bad boys….

10 Aug

Mmmmmarshmallows! forgive the photographic craptasticness.

It’s no secret that I love s’mores. And you cannot have s’mores without marshmallows. You just can’t. Otherwise it’ll just be melty chocolate on graham crackers. Awhile back I stumbled upon a post by Rebecca Crump over at http://www.ezrapoundcake.com – she had a post titled “Marshmallow 101” – color me intrigued! Marshmallows from scratch you say? Well i’m all in. Here is the best part. Instead of just posting a photo of the finished product (like I’m doing because let’s face it, Rebecca’s got all the details plotted out for you!) she gives pictures of the process step by step, a marshmallow making tutorial. Oh ya! (please also forgive the photographic craptasticness that is my marshmallow picture. It’s the only photograph I have of my marshmallow making success!)

Don’t let the details scare you. It’s not complicated to make marshmallows from scratch. You just need to have all of your ingredients measured out and ready to go so there’s no fumbling when you get to the next step. This recipe will require that you have a candy thermometer, so if you do not have one make sure to get one prior to testing out this recipe since you will be required to get the sugar to a certain temperature.

Once I got to the point where I was putting the marshmallow mixture into the prepared pan, I was totally amazed at how EASY it was to make marshmallows. I could have kicked myself for having waited so long to make them! And let me tell you, you’ll never want to go back to store bought marshmallows again. They now taste like spongy cardboard to me.

And homemade marshmallows? They make for some really amazing s’mores. Last winter I didn’t have any Hershey bars but had a wicked hankering for s’mores since we had a nice fire going and I substituted Nutella for the Hershey bar.

oh.my.gawd.

It was bliss sandwiched between a graham cracker. To die for. I highly recommend the homemade marshmallow nutella s’more combo. Celebrate National S’mores day the right way!

Click the link below to be taken to the fantabulous tutorial and become a marshmallow making queen. or king.

Marshmallow 101 Tutorial by Rebecca Crump of EzraPoundCake

One Response to “Happy National S’mores day! You can’t have s’more without these bad boys….”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Campin’ in the Kitchen – Campfire Biscuit S’mores « seasonedwithsarcasm - July 2, 2012

    […] at all possible. I cheated and used store bought marshmallows, but will be whipping up a batch of homemade  to try out so everything in the recipe is from scratch […]

Leave a Reply

