Basil-Almond Pesto

20 Jul

Basil is one of my top most favorite herbs. I love chopping it up to put on top of homemade pizza fresh out of the oven, mixing it in with sauces, or adding a large leaf to the tomatoes when I’m canning.

This year, I planted about 6 basil plants. They are doing wonderfully – REALLY wonderful. As in, I’m up to my eyeballs in basil! The first plants I had are starting to get ‘woody’ and flower, so I skipped pinching off the flowers and just cut the plant down by half. That way the plant will continue to produce more basil for me all summer long. If you have basil plants, be sure to pinch off the flowers. This is a sign the plant is going into shutdown mode and it will stop growing and producing more of those delicious leaves. If you’ve got a surplus of basil, this is a great way to use it up and be able to have that summertime flavor well into the winter.

I froze my pesto in 4oz mason jars so I could grab one whenever I wanted some pesto and let it thaw. If you do it this way, make sure to buy “freezer safe” mason jars and leave room for expansion. This recipe yielded 5 of the 4oz jars. I froze 4 of them and used one as a topping for quick bruschetta (whipped cream cheese mixed with shredded mozzarella, layer of pesto, layer of finely chopped tomato. serve with sliced baguette). You can also freeze the pesto in an ice-cube tray and put the frozen pesto cubes into a freezer safe bag for later use.

Fresh basil-almond pesto

Basil-Almond Pesto

Yields roughly five 4oz jars

1/4 cup raw slivered almonds

2 cups packed basil leaves, washed and dried

3 cloves garlic, roughly chopped

3 tablespoons parmesan cheese

1/4 cup olive oil (more if you like a thinner pesto)

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Put all ingredients in a food processor. Pulse until all ingredients are well combined. Place in mason jars and freeze until ready to use. If not freezing, I recommend using in a week to avoid the pesto taking on a not so bright green color. Enjoy!

One Response to “Basil-Almond Pesto”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The DIY Life: Mason Jar Storage and Organization « seasonedwithsarcasm - August 29, 2012

    […] for lunches the next day. Our freezer contains (freezer safe)  jars full of yumminess like pesto , squash spread, and creamy limoncello/tangicello. I have a light fixture by the sink that has old […]

Leave a Reply

