Use up that jam! Easy Homemade Jam Ice Cream.

30 Aug

I have to say, for a little bit there I was on a strawberry jam kick. It was easy to whip up and can a batch of it and be able to enjoy that one batch the whole year. But then I got chickens, which means I have lots of eggs. Which means my most favorite way to enjoy those eggs is over medium. What does that mean for my jam? It means it doesn’t get to make its debut on a buttery english muffin quite as often since strawberry jam coated english muffins do not go well being dipped into egg yolks. Maybe it’s just me, but that’s not my thing. So my strawberry jam has been collecting a little dust, going unloved on the canning shelf.

Then Northwest Edible Life throws me a recipe that is simple to whip up and use some of that jam! This ice cream recipe is so simple to use. No cooking a custard base, no cooling. Just your ice cream maker and 4 ingredients and you’ll have a batch of homemade ice cream with homemade jam for sweetness and flavor. I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of it!

It’s a great way to use up some surplus jam. Don’t have any homemade jam? You could give it a try with store bought. Not quite as good in my opinion, but it will still be quick and taste amazing. After tasting this easy ice cream, I plan on making a large batch of jam – strawberry and apple pie – so that I have it on hand for a quick batch of this ice cream! And to smear on homemade bread and english muffins of course.

strawberry jam ice cream

Homemade Jam Ice Cream

Adapted from Northwest Edible Life

1 cup cold milk – I used 2%

2 cups heavy whipping cream, chilled

1 pint jar jam of your choice – I used strawberry

Put all your ingredients into a mixing bowl and combine using an immersion blender. Pour mixture into your ice cream maker, following the manufacturers directions.

Since this will be a soft set, I like to place it in a freezer safe container and firm up overnight. The lovely thing about this recipe? It doesn’t get rock hard. My ice cream scoop easily cuts through it and I serve it up with a little chocolate sauce for dessert. It’s rich, so one or two scoops will satisfy.

6 Responses to “Use up that jam! Easy Homemade Jam Ice Cream.”

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy August 31, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    Wow, that really is an easy recipe – and I just happen to have a sweet tooth plus a freezer full of strawberry jam. I’ll give it a try and let you know. I was just looking at our ice cream maker in the freezer last week, thinking it had been a long time since we put it to use.

    • seasonedwithsarcasm September 3, 2013 at 1:34 am #

      It really is super easy, and delicious. I’m glad I stumbled upon this method since it means my ice cream maker will be dusted off more often! Hope you like it as much as we do!

  2. pdxknitterati September 14, 2013 at 1:41 am #

    Sounds easy and tasty! Just double checking: a pint, not a half pint of jam?

    • seasonedwithsarcasm September 20, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      nope, a WHOLE PINT. I wanted my ice cream to be really flavorful, so I used the whole jar. You can use less, and adjust to taste. :)

      • pdxknitterati September 20, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

        Thank you! That means using up *two* jars of jam. Go, go, go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Links: Boozy Infusions, Blackberry Kvass, and a Winner | Food in Jars - September 10, 2013

    […] Flavor your homemade ice cream with jam! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

